MARC HUDSON (DragonForce) Releases Lyric Video for “Dracula X!”

[Photo Credit: Oliver Lloyd Design]

MARC HUDSON (DragonForce) has revealed a new lyric video for his track “Dracula X!”, cut from his recent solo debut Starbound Stories! Explosive power metal anthem “Dracula X!” features a skillful guitar solo by Jacky Vincent (ex-Falling in Reverse, ex-Cry Venom) and impressive guest vocals by Adrienne Cowan (Seven Spires).

Starbound Stories is an uplifting journey through MARC HUDSON’s universe of power metal, anime influences, Japanese music and video game soundtracks, last mentioned particularly present on Dracula X!”. The new comic-inspired animated lyric video to Dracula X!” leads the listener through the exciting storyline of the track.

MARC HUDSON on “Dracula X!”:           
“’Dracula X!’ is a visceral journey inspired by the Castlevania saga. With the spellbinding screams of Adrienne Cowan and the virtuoso mastery of Jacky Vincent’s guitar, it is an evocative battle cry, echoing through the corridors of Dracula’s cursed castle. Through its haunting notes and lyrical poetry, it immortalizes the relentless quest to conquer the undying evil, a sonic testament to the eternal struggle between light and darkness.”

“Starbound Stories is a soaring rocket ride of sparkling anime-inspired power metal and I can’t wait for everyone to hear it!” – MARC HUDSON

Instrumental album opener “As The Twilight Met The Sea” acts as an introduction to the soundscapes of the album and features samurai metal master Ryoji Shinomoto (RYUJIN, previously known as Gyze) on traditional Japanese instruments. Shinomoto also lends his vocals on the following track, “Freedom Heart”, which also features a solo by guitar virtuoso Syu (Galneryus). Beautifully emotional successor “Stars” features classically trained violinist Mia Asano on electric violin. “Astralive” lures with an undeniably catchy chorus whilst also featuring fast drum patterns, spellbinding guitarwork and keys, and skillful power metal vocals that reach for the skies. “Swansong” starts off with a beautiful keyboard intro that could be pulled from a movie soundtrack. Sentimental vocals approach before the song progresses into a full-blown power metal ballad, with high screams and plenty of effects that further enhance the magical atmosphere while backing up the guitars and drums. Steve Terreberry, known on YouTube as Stevie T. (3.32M subscribers), performs a guitar solo on “Call Of The Martyrs” and is joined by prog guitarist Galen Stapley (Azure). Stapley also provides a solo on the following title track, “Starbound Stories”“One More Sight Of The Sun With You” is sung in Japanese, staying true to the main themes of the album and closing the entire offering on an uplifting note.

MARC HUDSON’s debut solo album is an outstanding musical adventure balanced between power metal, video game soundtracks, Japanese music and even pop influences, showcasing virtuosity throughout all of its grand instrumentation.

Pre-Order Starbound Stories HERE:

Starbound Stories Tracklist:

  1. As the Twilight met the Sea
  2. Freedom Heart
  3. Dracula X! feat. Jacky Vincent, Adrienne Cowan
  4. Stars
  5. The Siren
  6. Astralive
  7. Swansong
  8. Call of the Martyrs
  9. Starbound Stories
  10. One more sight of the sun with You

Starbound Stories is available in the following formats:              
1 LP Gatefold Translucent Blue (incl. 24-page booklet + Record Butler)                 
1 LP Gatefold Black (incl. lyric sheet)
1 CD Digipak + T-shirt    
Digital Album

Line Up:
Marc Hudson – Vocals, Guitar, Backing vocals
Shaz D – Keyboards
Frédéric Leclercq – Guitars, Bass
Rich Smith – Drums

Related posts

MARC HUDSON (DragonForce) Releases Title Track , “Starbound Stories”, from Upcoming Solo Album + Official Music Video


MARC HUDSON (DragonForce) Reveals Uplifting Second Single, “The Siren” & Official Music Video


DragonForce Frontman MARC HUDSON Signs to Napalm Records and Announces First Solo Album, “Starbound Stories”, out August 25, 2023!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More