Danish death metal-ensemble ELITIST releases debut album ‘A Mirage of Grandeur’

ELITIST – Foto af Niklas Jørgensen

After two single offerings, Copenhagen death metal ensemble ELITIST releases its debut album ‘A Mirage of Grandeur’ today, November 17th 2023. The album’s eight relentlessly twisted tracks forcefully conveys the band’s unique vision of death metal, while thematically dealing with the perverse and lethal delusions of the elites, the rich and powerful.

A Mirage of Grandeur’ is released on CD and digital formats through Indisciplinarian, while Copenhagen death metal label Extremely Rotten Productions is responsible for the cassette version. The CD version is available HERE and all digital formats can be reached HERE, while the MC version will be available in a couple of weeks. Also, Indisciplinarian will release a limited vinyl version in 300 gold copies on January 13th 2024, and the vinyl version can now be pre-ordered HERE,

Also on January 13th, ELITIST will play a show alongside Undergang, Gorephilia and Malformed at Pumpehuset, Copenhagen hosted by Extremely Rotten Productions. Tickets are now on sale HERE.

Conceived in 2018 and consisting of current and former members of underground acts such as PISS VORTEX, DYSGNOSTIC and UXDXS, ELITIST is a forward-thinking death metal monstrosity from Copenhagen, Denmark. After years of preparation, the band is now proud to present its debut LP ‘A Mirage of Grandeur.’

ELITIST brings something different to the table of the booming Danish death metal scene, effortlessly melding jagged, angular riffs and leads with relentless blast beats and frenetic, dexterous basswork. At the center of the chaos, everything is held together by a dual vocal attack ranging from cavernous bellows to desperate shrieks. The result is a musical expression that stays true to its death metal roots, while simultaneously drawing inspiration from the punishing brutality of grindcore and the industrial clamor of noise rock. This unorthodox approach and willingness to experiment is what sets ELITIST apart from their immediate peers.

Thematically, ‘A Mirage of Grandeur‘ is a scathing critique of social, political and cultural elitism and superiority. In the words of the band themselves: “It is the central thesis of the album that boundless arrogance and contempt for perceived lessers is customary among the self-satisfied decision-makers and gatekeepers of our time. Therefore, ‘A Mirage of Grandeur’ is dedicated to those who are utterly convinced of their own magnificence and therefore have nothing to spare for the undeserving; those who believe that their status makes them untouchable; those who would simply prefer to shrug at the oncoming catastrophes facing humanity. This album is for you.”
A Mirage of Grandeur‘ was recorded and mixed by engineer Lars Mayland, mastered by Colin Marston (KRALLICE, GORGUTS, DYSRHYTHMIA, ETC.) and has artwork by Tobias Holmbeck (NARCOSATANICOS, ASHENSPIRE, TELOS, ETC.).

Elitist Cover231006

ELITIST – A Mirage of Grandeur
Artwork by Tobias Holmbeck

Track list:

1. Propagating Suffering

2. Vacuous Magnificence

3. Deluded Fallacies Spew From Rancid Mouths

4. False Lives

5. Funneled into Oblivion

6. Ahistorical Pride

7. Sustaining Collapse

8. Onslaught of Irrelevance

Elitist is:

Thomas Fischer – Vocala, bass

Simon Stenbæk Christensen – Vocals, guitars

Rasmus Moesby Sørensen – Guitars

Niclas Sauffaus – Drums


Related posts

Copenhagen death metal unit ELITIST releases second single from debut album ‘A Mirage of Grandeur’


Copenhagen death metal unit ELITIST releases first single from debut album ‘A Mirage of Grandeur’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More