STUPOROUS premiere new track at – features members of MESLAMTAEA, ASGRAUW, SCHAVOT+++


Today, black/doom enigmas Stuporous premiere the new track “Decorating the Willow Tree” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the first to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated debut album, Asylum’s Lament, set for international release on January 25th, 2024 via Void Wanderer Productions, in conspiracy with War Productions. Hear Stuporous‘ “Decorating the Willow Tree” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Stuporous is a Dutch/Belgian black-doom band with members from the infamous Zwotte Kring collective. With a history in black metal going back to the ’90’s, and a deep interest in doom metal, the idea for Stuporous was born. 

Stuporous is the brainchild of Floris Velthuis, who had previously flirted with blackened doom with his non-orthodox black metal band Meslamtaea. Trumpeter Izzy Op de Beeck, who’s also part of Meslamtaea, plays in various jazz-noir projects. Doom, therefore, is familiar territory to him, and he adds a special dark jazz vibe to the music. With singer Devi, who works in psychiatry, the formation is complete. 

Stuporous‘ lyrics are about mental disorders and depression, based on true events in the psychiatric facility. Devi’s vocals, at times schizophrenic, are making the listener identify with the suffering persons that the music is about. Traditional grunts and screams are interspersed with clean vocals. 

The band’s first public recording, Asylum’s Lament sounds heavy, nostalgic, and melancholic – dreamlike, but not a pleasant dream, as the listener is drowning into a mental nightmare maelstrom…

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “Decorating the Willow Tree” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Preorder info can be found HERE. Cover artwork, courtesy of Gordiart, and tracklisting are as follows:

Stuporous Cover231113

Tracklisting for Stuporous’ Asylum’s Lament
1. Parasidious Preludium [2:22]
2. Throne of Madness [5:40]
3. Desperation [6:16]
4. Decorating the Willow Tree  [7:13]
5. Never Let Me Go [8:26]
6. Distorted Echoes [6:34]
7. The Voice That Made Me Do It [10:33]

Floris Velthuis – guitar, bass, drums, synths (Meslamtaea, Schavot, The Color of Rain, Asgrauw)
Devi Hisgen – vocals (Teitan, The Color of Rain, Cthuluminati)
Izzy Op de Beeck – horn (Meslamtaea, Waveshard, Detour Doom Ensemble, Avatar BE)

Related posts

STUPOROUS set release date for VOID WANDERER / WAR debut – features members of MESLAMTAEA, ASGRAUW, SCHAVOT+++


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More