NOBODY – US-based post/depressive black metal act to release debut album “Despair is Where My Thoughts Swim” in May

Nobody Cover240407

Post/depressive black metal act NOBODY will release their hauntingly beautiful first full-length album, “Despair is Where My Thoughts Swim”, on May 17th 2024 via End My Life Records/Tragedy Productions.

On their debut album, NOBODY weave emotive metallic power and dream-state vulnerability, summoning a new level of melodicism through cast-iron, heartfelt songcraft. “Despair…” is a dynamic collection unashamedly brim-filled with sadness and regret.

The compositions are dark, atmospheric and emotional, and concomitantly lean towards open-minded musicality. While entrenched in metal’s doom and black metal branches, NOBODY displays a versatile, many-layered style of playing, packs different styles of vocals, and draws influence and inspiration from music outside the metal’s realm. The record incorporates acoustic guitar, piano and synth within flowing volleys of depressive black metal, weighty contemplative doom and the wide-ranging wistfulness of indie and post-punk songwriting.

The first single, “Life’s Ephemeral Tale”, is now streaming HERE.


1. Life’s Ephemeral Tale
2. Faces Pass Me in Crowded Rooms
3. In This Emptiness
4. Perpetual Torment
5. Days Drift By
6. A Silent Prayer
7. Bleeding a World Undone
8. The Path of Ashes
9. Obscurity’s Embrace
10. In the Quietus of Night
11. Myspys (Lifelover Cover)


NOBODY is a DSBM band formed by Troll and Ulver early 2023 in Cincinnati, Ohio. That very same year, they released two EPs that were very well received in the underground: “Fading Into Obscurity” and “Lifeless and Still”. In 2024, Void joined the band as its new vocalist to work in their first full length “Despair is where My Thoughts Swim”.
 and Troll (guitars, drums) are well-known in the DSBM scene, both were former members of the band Sorry… until early 2024 and have numerous side-projects that transcend the subgenre.
 says of the band: “Nobody is where echoes fade and darkness swells, souls adrift, in the void’s embrace”.

‘s first full-length album will be released by End My Life Records/Tragedy Productions on May 17th, 2024. The album consists of 11 songs, including a Lifelover cover performed by guest vocalist Irritum (Internal Darkness, I Fall to Ash).

For fans of: Amesoeurs, early Katatonia, Forgotten Tomb, Lifelover, Nocturnal Depression


Void – Vocals
Ulver – Guitars, Bass, Songwriting
Troll – Drums, Guitars, Bass, Synth/Piano, Lyrics, Songwriting
Irritum – Vocals on Track 12 – “Myspys”


Related posts

NOBODY – US-based post/depressive black metal act premiere “Perpetual Torment” single, debut album “Despair is Where My Thoughts Swim” out in May


Second single Atmosfear by a Finnish acoustic black metal band NOBODY is now released!


Finnish acoustic black metal band NOBODY is set to release debut album Atmosfear – first single Stronger Than Blood out now!


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More