SEVERE TORTURE Unleash Third Single ‘The Pinnacle of Suffering’

Severe Torture Cover240312

Navigate through the carnage, seasoned seekers of the unrelenting extremities, as Season of Mist heralds the monstrous return of death metal behemoths SEVERE TORTURE with their latest aural onslaught, The Pinnacle of Suffering. Serving as the harbinger of their much-anticipated album, Torn from the Jaws of Death, this new single encapsulates the relentless spirit and vicious might of a band unyielding in their quest to sculpt soundtracks for the macabre.

Emerging from the depths with all the subtlety of a warhammer upon bone, SEVERE TORTURE immortalizes their two-decade-long crusade to forge the purest, most ferocious strains of the genre. Captured in the grim embrace of Torture Compound Studios and honed to diabolic perfection by the fiendish expertise of Mendel bij de Leij, this is death metal in its most primal and unfiltered state.

Torn From The Jaws of Death comes out June 7 on Season of Mist.


Infused with the raw marrow of Severe Torture’s musical lineage, The Pinnacle of Suffering wields the dark poetry of torment like a serrated blade — a relentless pursuit of boundary-demolishing sound. Shackled by chains of visceral composition, this new single beckons you to a realm where shadows of the damned march in lockstep with the blistering drums, where the chugging riffs anoint you with a tar-thick darkness that no light dare penetrate.

Listen to the new single The Pinnacle of Suffering here:

1. The Death Of Everything (4:07) [WATCH]
2. Marked By Blood And Darkness (4:14)
3. Hogtied In Rope (3:23)
4. Torn From The Jaws Of Death (4:27) [WATCH]
5. Christ Immersion (3:30)
6. Putrid Remains (4:29)
7. The Pinnacle Of Suffering (3:09) [LISTEN]
8. Through Pain And Emptiness (3:30)
9. Those Who Wished Me Dead (2:26)
10. Tear All The Flesh Off The Earth (5:21)
Total runtime: 38:36

Style: Brutal Death Metal
Country: Netherlands
FFO: Defeated Sanity, Brodequin, Aborted

Severe Torture240411
Photo by © Thijs van Laarhoven

For over 25 years, SEVERE TORTURE has embodied the ethos of Brutal. Death. Metal. A genre-defining titan, they’ve held a commanding presence in the metal universe since 1997, blending intense performances with a relentless commitment to their visceral, raw sound.

Born from the bowels of the Dutch underground, the band emerged onto the world stage with their debut album Feasting On Blood, hailed as an epic watershed in the nascent wave of brutal death metal in 2001. Their hard-hitting, merciless sound has since rippled across North and South America, Europe, and Mexico; their trail marked by five ground-breaking releases over the past quarter-century.

Remaining relevant in the ever-evolving realm of metal is no small feat, a task Severe Torture met by continuously levelling up. In pursuit of rejuvenation and to capture the aggression and energy befitting of a new era, they amicably parted ways with original drummer Seth in 2018, bringing Damiën Kerpentier into the fold. The move signified a new chapter for the seasoned ensemble, marking a seismic shift that breathed fresh air into their creative process, leading to some of their darkest, most profound work yet.

This invigorated spirit came to life in 2022 with the release of the EP Fisting The Sockets – the band’s first release in an astounding 12 years. The record served as a triumphant herald for their resurgence, re-signing with Season of Mist and rekindling the flame of their brutal origins amidst a pandemic-stricken world.

Now, in 2024, Severe Torture is set to escalate to new heights of sonic savagery with their sixth full-length album, Torn from the Jaws of Death. Recorded at the infamous Torture Compound Studios, the album stands as a testament to the raw energy, blood, sweat, and relentless brutality that the band represents.

From the aggressive whirlwind of riffs in The Death of Everything, to the haunting black metal nuances of the title track Torn from the Jaws of Death, the album is a death metal cogitation on murder, torture, and the madness of organized religions. Crafted with an unwavering commitment to the genre, Torn from the Jaws of Death is a grim reflection of the world, drenched in the band’s signature brutal death metal sound.

As the anticipation mounts for the release of Torn from the Jaws of Death, you can be sure Severe Torture remains alive and thriving in the heart of brutal death metal, pushing boundaries, and refusing to bow to conventions. A quarter-century in, these stalwarts of the scene are just getting started. Stay tuned to witness their relentless progression as they continue their incessant march through the annals of metal history.

Dennis Scheurs – Vocals
Patrick Boleij – Bass
Damiën Kerpentier – Drums
Marvin Vriesde – Guitars Right & Leads
Thijs van Laarhoven – Guitars Left

Recording Studio
Torture Compound Studios

Production Credits
Damiën Kerpentier – Engineer
Mendel bij de Leij – Mixing & Mastering Engineer

Thijs van Laarhoven

Cover Art
Pär Olofsson


Follow Severe Torture:
Official Website: 
Apple Music:

Related posts

SEVERE TORTURE Release “Torn From the Jaws of Death”


SEVERE TORTURE Releases First Single “The Death of Everything”


SEVERE TORTURE stream full EP ‘Fisting the Sockets’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More