TRAIL OF TEARS release first EP in over a decade

Trail Of Tears240329

Norwegian gothic metal pioneers Trail of Tears have released their long-awaited comeback EP today and “Winds of Disdain” is out now via The Circle Music. “Winds of Disdain” marks the band’s first release in over 10 years and signifies a new chapter for Trail of Tears.

Order the CD and LP version of “Winds of Disdain”:

Stream the EP on digital platforms:

The time has finally come for all of you to hear what we have been working on!” says Ronny Thorsen, Trail of Tears founder and vocalist.  “Hopefully, you will enjoy the end result as much as we enjoyed creating it. This is just the start of our return though, so expect more news from the Trail of Tears camp. In the meantime, keep spinning Winds of Disdain and tell your friends that we’re back!

The album features the haunting vocals of Ailyn Giménez García, formerly of symphonic metal band Sirenia. Alongside García’s soaring voice, founding member Ronny Thorsen delivers his distinct growls. The rest of the band features a solid foundation with original guitarist Runar Hansen, longtime bassist Endre Moe Nicolay, and Jørni Johnsen on guitars and programming. This lineup promises to deliver Trail of Tears’ signature brand of gothic metal with a fresh and dynamic sound.

Trail of Tears have signed a multifaceted deal with The Circle Music, which – in addition to the “Winds of Disdain” EP – will see the release of a full-length album, and vinyl reissues of all seven of their previous albums, starting with their iconic 1998 debut “Disclosure in Red.”

Formed in 1997, Norwegian gothic metallers Trail of Tears quickly gained acclaim with their debut album “Disclosure in Red” and relentless touring alongside bands like Tristania and Cradle of Filth. Over the next decade, they released a string of successful albums, each showcasing their blend of dark melodies, soaring vocals, and heavy riffs. The band also saw lineup changes, with founding member Ronny Thorsen remaining a constant.

Despite critical and commercial success, Trail of Tears went on hiatus in 2013. However, 2020 saw a resurgence for the band. Thorsen spearheaded a reformation, bringing together both original members and long-time collaborators, completed by Ailyn Giménez García.

Check out the band’s videos to the singles “Winds of Disdain” and “Blood Red Halo.

Trail Of Tears Cover240110

“Winds of Disdain” tracklist: 
1. Winds of Disdain 
2. Take These Tears 
3. No Colours Left 
4. Blood Red Halo

Trail of Tears on “Winds of Disdain”: 
Ronny Thorsen – vocals
Ailyn Giménez García – vocals
Runar Hansen – guitars
Nicolay Jørni Johnsen – guitars and programming
Endre Moe – bass 

“Winds of Disdain” artwork by Gogo Melone

Trail of Tears online: 

Related posts

TRAIL OF TEARS unveil next single “Blood Red Halo”


TRAIL OF TEARS return after a decade of silence with powerful new single “Winds of Disdain”


TRAIL OF TEARS return after 10 years with “Winds Of Disdain”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More