Tech death sensation SWELLING REPULSION reveal mind-swirling track via Toilet ov Hell

Swelling Repulsion Cover240309

There’s a certain pleasure to be derived from listening to bands doing their own thing and taking the sound ahead in their own ways. Swelling Repulsion don’t care about what works conventionally and what doesn’t – they’re too engrossed in their music to bother with any of that. They’re effectively blending technical, progressive and even dissonant death metal styles to create an intricate yet deceptively groovy form of death metal album which is no mean feat. Keep aside your rigid, narrow-minded expectations of the style and immerse yourself into their disarming, honest-to-goodness technical music. Toilet ov Hell premiered a new song from their album AT THIS LINK. Excerpt – 

“they’re making a spiraling, whirling, psychotropic masterpiece”


– “freakishly head-spinning as well as disemboweling” – No Clean Singing (US)…

– “A constantly writhing creation” – Head-Banger Reviews (US)…

– “like Necrophagist on Stanozolol” – Metal Eclipse Reviews (US) 3.5/5…

Swelling Repulsion (International) – Fatally Misguided (Progressive/Technical Death Metal)

Swelling Repulsion have crafted their own style of death metal imbibing elements of various styles within the genre and giving it a refreshing expression. It’s technical, progressive, even psychedelic and dissonant in parts and the way they’ve put it together is not only remarkably coherent, but also extremely catchy. This is busy, indulgent death metal music that is fun to listen to for a change and isn’t as self-absorbed to come off as sounding too mechanical, premeditated or detached. There’s an intuitive flow to the songs which do enough to maintain interest while always sustaining that undercurrent of groove that keeps things upbeat and enjoyable. It’s an album the listener would want to willingly bury himself in and slowly unspool the intricate layers of riffing that have him cocooned in. ‘Fatally Misguided’ is a sprightly, delectable release with a quality of its own and it’s one that compels the listener to revisit over and over without causing fatigue. This is one of those quirky hidden gems from the death metal underground that side-steps all trends and waves and simply oozes raw appeal.

For fans of – Afflicted, early AdramelechDefect Designer, ÆnigmatumDisharmonic OrchestraHorrendousAtvm

Line up:
Bage – Vocals, Drums, FX
Donovan – Vocals, Guitars
Kristian Jablonicky – Bass

Artwork by The Masked Observer

Track listing:
1. Vanquished
2. Basking In Fumes Of Failure
3. Fatally Misguided
4. Sacred Doom
5. Cesspool of Dismembered Memory
6. Drug Induced Anti-Logic
7. Failure
8. Sullen Light of Expired Stars

Official release date – June 7th, 2024

Related posts

Prog/tech death metal band SWELLING REPULSION return with new full length


SWELLING REPULSION set release date for SPIRIT COFFIN debut – streaming in full now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More