VANHELGD – New Full-Length Album “Atropos Doctrina” via Dark Descent Records – Details and Trackstream revealed


Dark Descent Records have announced the new album of Sweden’s VANHELGD: “Atropos Doctrina” is set for release on July 12th 2024 on CD, LP, cassette and digital formats.

After six long years, VANHELGD has finally installed a successor to 2018’s monumental “Deimos Sanktuarium” on the notorious Svensk Dödsmetall throne. But as the saying goes, good things are worth waiting for, and as the Fates would have it, the Swedes’ sixth opus “Atropos Doctrina” might just be the best of the bunch.

Six years of pandemic, crisis and war have passed since we last announced the impending doom of mankind. Much and nothing has changed. Tragedy, ecstasy and doom are still our perpetual companions and the age of man is indefatigable crawling towards the end of its path. The moirai spun and measured your thread of life and now it’s in the hand of Atropos the Inflexible One…

Atropos Doctrina” was recorded under the watchful eye of Marduk’s Magnus “Devo” Andersson at Norrköping’s Endarker Studios, and the odds are you won’t hear a heavier production for a good wee while. Backed by ice-cold performances and precision from the band, “Atropos Doctrina” might just be the biggest sounding album of 2024 to date!

Despite its Latin title, all lyrics on the record are in the band’s mother tongue, marking an end to their Anglo-Swedish lyrical approach. An indifference to trends and scene sentiments persists as VANHELGD’s trump card. And after 17 years the band remains just as uncompromising as ever, honing their unique blend of atmospheric death and black metal to perfection.

A first track, “Kom dödens tysta ängel“, can be checked out here:

Vanhelgd Cover240528


1. Saliga äro de dödfödda

2. Kom dödens tysta ängel

3. Ofredsår

4. I ovigd jord

5. Atropos Hymnarium

6. Galgdanstid

7. Kerernas törst

8. Gravjordsfrid


Mattias Frisk – Guitar / Vocals

Jimmy Johansson – Guitar / Vocals

Jonas Albrektsson – Bass

Mathias Westman – Drums +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More