Death/doom metal legends OFFICIUM TRISTE announce new full length via Transcending Obscurity

Officium Triste Cover240612

We’re pleased to offer preorders for the gorgeous release of the Dutch death/doom legends Officium Triste. Coming after a gap of five years, it’s a long awaited album but it’s a glorious one. They’ve improved upon their classic sound some more and you’ll find it to be virtually flawless now especially if you’re into their kind of emotive death/doom metal. You can listen to two of their songs on Bandcamp.

Officium Triste240612

Officium Triste (Netherlands) – Hortus Venenum (Death/Doom Metal)

Widely regarded as legends in the style, Dutch death/doom metal band Officium Triste have mastered the art of playing emotive yet elegant music and have honed their sound even more on their seventh full length album. ‘Hortus Venenum’ is a special album as it celebrates the band’s 30th year anniversary and it’s remarkable that even after so many years they have continued to evolve and improve upon their already established sound. The songwriting is surprisingly effective with its disarming simplicity and clean, exquisite tunes soaked in heartfelt emotion, delivered with the kind of sincerity which only comes from years of experience, both as musicians and worldly men. The relatively shorter songs have a sense of immediacy that the previous albums didn’t have but their emotional depth is just as strong if not better than before. There are tasteful embellishments all over the album without affecting the sense of continuity and cohesiveness; there’s diversity without disrupting the overall mood and the music’s innate evocative power. With intuitively arranged songs, it’s hardly perceptible that ‘Hortus Venenum’ is the band’s shortest full length album and yet it’s among their most potent ones – the beauty and appeal of the music on this one is nigh unparalleled. Suffice to say, it’s another masterpiece from this band that only seems to get better with age.

For fans of – SaturnusMy Dying BrideParadise LostDraconianSwallow The SunNovember’s Doom

Line up –
Martin Kwakernaak – Synths
Niels Jordaan – Drums
William van Dijk – Rhythm guitars
Pim Blankenstein – Vocals
Gerard de Jong – Lead guitars
Theo Plaisier – Bass

Artwork by Paolo Girardi

Track listing:
1. Behind Closed Doors 05:22
2. My Poison Garden 04:33
3. Anna’s Woe 07:19
4. Walk In Shadows 08:10
5. Forcefield 05:18
6. Angels With Broken Wings 10:20

Release date – September 6th, 2024

Related posts

Invisible Oranges streams song of death/doom legends OFFICIUM TRISTE


Decibel Magazine premieres song by doom/death legends OFFICIUM TRISTE


Legendary death/doom metal band OFFICIUM TRISTE to release album on Transcending Obscurity


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More