OCTOPLOID – ignite excitement for debut album with new single ‘The Hallowed Flame [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]’

Photo credit: Pete Voutilainen

OCTOPLOID have launched their final single, ‘The Hallowed Flame,’ leading toward the highly-anticipated released of their debut album “Beyond The Aeons.” Accompanied by a striking music video (directed by Pete Voutilainen), ‘The Hallowed Flame’ features Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine‘s former BARREN EARTH band mate and SWALLOW THE SUN vocalist Mikko KotamäkiOCTOPLOID once again take listeners on a musical journey, heightened by Kotamäki‘s wide vocal spectrum and  garnished with dreamy lead melodies. Praised by music critics across the world, “Beyond The Aeons” is due out on July 5, 2024 via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

Watch ‘The Hallowed Flame [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]’:
Stream/purchase the track:

“A doomy tune sung by Mikko Kotamäki which deals with love, longing and hope. The crushing theme meets a tender verse, creating a vulnerable balance before the heavy interlude hits. This ballad draws its influences entirely from the 90s, boosting the nostalgic vibe of the entire performance,” states Oppu.

Octoploid Cover240524

Pre-order the album in your preferred physical format (CD-digipak or eco-friendly/recycled “dusk of vex” marbled vinyl), pre-save it on your favourite digital service provider (DSP), or pre-order it digitally to instantly receive ‘The Hallowed Flame [feat. Mikko Kotamäki],’ ‘The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki],’ and ‘Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen].’ Order now, here:

More From “Beyond The Aeons”:
‘Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]’ OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO:
‘The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]’ OFFICIAL LYRIC VIDEO:

Don’t forget to subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube to stay updated and listen to ‘The Hallowed Flame [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]’ along with other new tracks in the “RPM New Releases” playlist on Spotify. Subscribe here:

Octopploid Cover240615


02.08.2024 FI Helsinki – On the Rocks [TICKETS*NEW*


, the solo project of Olli-Pekka Laine (bassist, keyboardist, and backing vocalist, known for his work with AMORPHIS, BARREN EARTH, and MANNHAI), was established in 2022. This venture has culminated in “Beyond The Aeons,” the act’s debut album set for release on July 5, 2024, through Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM)OCTOPLOID‘s music merges elements of 90s death/black metal, 70s prog rock, and 90s psychedelic rock, carving a distinct niche in the music landscape. The sound of OCTOPLOID has aptly been described as “classic death prog.”

The band’s lineup is built around Laine and features four talented musicians. Mikko Pietinen, a versatile drummer with experience ranging from stoner rock with MANNHAI to Finnish mainstream pop rock (including bands like KASMIR), and Peter Salonen, a lead/rhythm guitarist known for his work with THE KINKY THING — a band that performs covers of Finnish psych rock legends KINGSTON WALL — is relatively new to the scene. The group is completed by keyboardist Kim Rantala (GIANT ROBOT, formerly of AMORPHIS) and vocalist Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN etc.; live).

Mikko Kotamäki | vocals (live)
Peter Salonen | guitars
Kim Rantala | keyboards
Olli-Pekka Laine | bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Mikko Pietinen | drums, percussion


Facebook | Instagram | X | TikTok | RPM

Related posts

OCTOPLOID – highly anticipated debut album “Beyond The Aeons” to hit the stores this Friday; ‘A Dusk Of Vex [feat. Jón Aldará]’ lyric video unveiled


OCTOPLOID – premiere single & video for “Beyond The Aeons” opening track, ‘The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]’


OCTOPLOID – unveil music video for first digital single, ‘Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]’, and launch debut album pre-orders


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More