THE ETERNAL – launch ‘Under The Black’ lyric video; new album “Skinwalker” out this Friday via RPM

“This album is simply absolutely fantastic!”
POWERMETAL.DE, Björn Backes – 9,5/10 Points

“The songs carry a heavy emotional impact and burden to the listener,
but also make you yearn for more punishment.”

METAL-TEMPLE.COM, Dave Campbell – 9/10 Points

“An excellently crafted album: “Skinwalker” grows exponentially listening by listening.”
ROCK HARD (IT), Federico Venditti – 8/10 Points

“…the time is right for THE ETERNAL: to see them grasp their chance
with such flair on “Skinwalker” is not only thrilling, but also a fitting tribute
to Mark Kelson’s vision for the band over more than two decades.”

SENTINEL DAILY (AU), Alf-Inge Ingesson

“…it revolves around the talented songwriting and the experience held within the core of
THE ETERNAL to achieve a unified record full of enraptured charm from start to finish.


The Eternal Cover240627

Today, Finnish-Australian metallers THE ETERNAL release their long-awaited seventh studio album, “Skinwalker,” through Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM). It’s way more than a new album though: marking some kind of fresh start of the group with a renewed line-up, the 9-track offering doesn’t only please long-time followers of the band but also appeals to many new listeners outside of their previous fan base by successfully exploring new sonic territories besides their comfort zone. “Skinwalker” can now be enjoyed in its full splendour, and to mark the occasion, the group have prepared a video for the track ‘Under The Black,’ which can also be found on the album.

Check out ‘Under The Black’ now, here:
Stream/purchase the track:

The track offers a compelling showcase of THE ETERNAL‘s progressive inclinations, blending dynamic shifts and emotive storytelling into a captivating sonic journey. With the introduction of guest Santeri Kallio‘s (AMORPHIS) Hammond organ, the track ignites into motion, driven by its pulsating energy. Guided by expressive guitar work and propelled by commanding drums and resounding bass lines, the listener is lead through a series of exhilarating peaks and valleys, where haunting vocals take centre stage. Dynamically, the track navigates the spectrum from fragile intimacy to bombastic progressive metal, showcasing THE ETERNAL‘s adeptness at crafting multifaceted compositions.

Order “Skinwalker” in your preferred physical format [CD-digipak or transparent/black marbled 2LP], stream it on your favourite digital service provider (DSP), or order it digitally now, here:

Don’t forget to subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube to stay updated and listen to ‘Under The Black’ along with other new tracks in the “RPM New Releases” playlist on Spotify. Subscribe here:

The Eternal Cover2240510

“Skinwalker” is a continuation of THE ETERNAL‘s rich musical legacy and yet is set to be a defining moment creatively for the band. The album features several notable guest appearances including Tomi Joutsen (AMORPHIS), Santeri Kallio (AMORPHIS), Sami Yli-Sirniö (KREATOR) and award-winning Tuvian throat singer Albert Kuvezin (YAT-KHA) to name a few. Recorded at guitarist/singer Mark Kelson‘s Lucidity Sound Studios and Jan Rechberger‘s Moon Unit Studios and produced by KelsonRechberger as well as guitarist Richie Poate, the record was mixed by Mark and Jan at Moon Unit before sending it off to Crystal Mastering in Melbourne, Australia. In the end, creative force Kelson was even responsible for the artwork, supported by the prominent skills of Travis Smith (OPETHAMORPHIS etc.).

“Skinwalker” – Track Listing:

01. Abandonded By Hope
02. Deathlike Silence
03. Under The Black
04. Temptation’s Door
05. The Iconoclast
06. When The Fire Dies
07. Fall Upon The Earth
08. Skinwalker
09. Shattered Remains

More from “Skinwalker”:
‘Deathlike Silence’ OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO:

The Eternal240412
Photo credit: AJ Savolainen


The distinctive sound of THE ETERNAL is a fusion of dark, melancholic, and emotive metal with influences from both doom and progressive genres. The most recent incarnation of the band includes Jan Rechberger (AMORPHIS) and Niclas Etelävuori (ex-AMORPHISFLAT EARTH) along with long-time members Mark Kelson and Richie Poate. Having evolved into a truly international collaboration, with half of the members being based in Melbourne, Australia, and the other half in Helsinki, FinlandTHE ETERNAL released their seventh studio album “Skinwalker” via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM).

Mark Kelson | vocals, guitars
Richie Poate | guitars
Niclas Etelävuori | bass
Jan Rechberger | drums, percussion


Linktree | Facebook | Instagram | X | YouTube | Soundcloud | RPM

Related posts

THE ETERNAL – reveal official video for emotional new single ‘When The Fire Dies’


THE ETERNAL – present hypnotising title track from upcoming album “Skinwalker”; lyric video streaming on YouTube


THE ETERNAL – Finnish-Australian Metal Quartet Returns With New Video/Single, “Deathlike Silence;


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More