DEFILED release title track of the new album “The Highest Level”

Death metal crushers DEFILED are sharing the title track of their upcoming album “The Highest Level”. The album will drop worldwide on the 28th of April, 2023 via Season of Mist.

Listen to the brand new track via the official Season of Mist Youtube Channel here.

The band comments: We are happy to release “The Highest Level”, the title track of our new album. The intention of the track is to capture the nostalgia of the late 80’s and early 90’s transition from thrash metal to death metal and bring it into the 21st century with our own interpretation.How will this track sound to you in 2023? It is not exactly the same as it was back then, but we hope you enjoy it.

Pre-order here:
Pre-save here:


1. Off-limits (02:35) WATCH HERE
2. Stealth (03:11)
3. The Highest Level (03:17) WATCH HERE
4. Entrapped (03:16)
5. The Status Quo (02:32)
6. Warmonger (02:37)
7. Demonization (03:29)
8. Inquisition (03:39)
9. Madness Accelerated (02:11)
10. Delusion (02:54)
11. Only the Strongest Survive (02:54)
12. Red World (04:06)
13. The Last Straw (03:25)
14. Requiem (02:43)
15. The Speech (00:36)
Total (43:17)

Photo taken by Shigenori Ishikawa

When it comes to straight-forward, bone-crushing death metal, Tokyo’s DEFILED delivers! ‘The Highest Level’ stays true to the traditional death metal formula, while the band’s gritty songwriting approach lends to its authenticity. DEFILED attempts to make no frills with this new full-length, instead speaking directly to the sensibility of old school death metal fanatics who are simply looking for some face-melting violence!

The early 90s was a crucial and formative time for death metal, a genre that started to predominantly emerge in the west with bands like Decide, Cannibal Corpse, Autopsy, Obituary, and Morbid Angel having a stronghold on America while Entombed, Cadaver, Carcass, and many others started to make waves in Europe and the U.K. But across the vast Pacific Ocean, DEFILED was taking a cue from its peers and became one of Asia’s leading purveyors during the genre’s early inception.

Upon releasing a series of demos and EPs during the mid-90s, the Japanese powerhouse finally released its first full-length, ‘Erupted Wrath,’ via Nightfall Records. Upon its release, the band broke out of Asia and started to make its debut in America across the extreme metal fest circuit – performing twice at Milwaukee Metal Fest as well as appearing at November to Dismember in Texas.

The band kept busy during the turn of the century while continuing to build their profile and dominate metal audiences around the globe and by 2003, they formed a union with Season of Mist, where the band has become one of the label’s most consistent death metal mainstays. Since then, the band has released six full-length albums, the majority of which are under the Season of Mist banner.

As the band celebrates thirty years since its legacy was formed, they are ready to unleash another pummelling offering onto the masses. ‘The Highest Level’ still carries the same time-tested formula that Defiled established three decades ago, remaining true to their identity, and still carrying the torch as one of the genre’s founding fathers.

Style: Old School Death Metal


Related posts

DEFILED release full album stream ahead of schedule


DEFILED release third track: ‘Red world’ with music video!


DEFILED releases new track + details of “The Highest Level”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More