MENTAL CRUELTY new majestic video for Midtvinter and Obsessis a Daemonio!

Photo: Niklas Zwingenberger

Zwielicht is out now via Century Media Records!
Zwielicht has come. Mental Cruelty’s reign of darkness has begun!
Order Now!

Mental Cruelty comments on “Obsessis a Daemonio”: Obsessis a Daemonio is a song inspired by medieval age manuscripts describing exorcisms. Watch out to not get haunted yourself after watching the video. It’s a story of a spiritual battle between a priest and a demon of his past. An epic fight of the light vs. the dark – who will triumph in the end? Decide by yourself! Get ready for a bombastic performance in an original antique monastery library setting!
Zwielicht, the fourth full-length album from Mental Cruelty, is now available via Century Media Records!
Dive into a dark and intense world where Hell’s power reigns supreme. Stream “Obsessis a Daemonio” and Zwielicht now HERE; the new and epic music video (produced by Aurora Motion Pictures) can be watched here later today at 9AM PT/12PM ET/6PM CEST

Mental Cruelty comments on the album release: “Let us embrace a new era of darkness by bringing the “black” into blackened heavy music. Join us on the way down to infernal gates of hell to be rebirthed back to life. The album contains the most mind-bending variety of different heavy musical influences and sounds. Epic symphonic orchestras accompanied by slam breakdowns; this will have it all. Inspired from metaphors written by nature, death, and inner demons.
We can´t put into words the level of excitement we feel by releasing this album to you. We hope you feel the same way! Thank you for being with us and stay tuned for even more news!”

MENTAL CRUELTY_cover230416
Artwork by Lewandowski

Zwielicht Tracklist:

  1. Midtvinter
  2. Obsessis a Daemonio
  3. Forgotten Kings
  4. Pest
  5. Nordlys
  6. Mortal Shells
  7. Zwielicht
  8. Symphony of a Dying Star
  9. The Arrogance of Agony
  10. A Tale of Salt and Light

Order Zwielicht now at:
The album is available in the following versions:

  • Ltd. CD 6-Panel Digipak
  • Ltd. Gatefold Black 1LP 180g Vinyl
  • Ltd. Gatefold White 1LP 180g Vinyl – Limited to only 500 copies worldwide
  • Ltd. Gatefold Bright Gold 1LP 180g Vinyl – Limited to only 300 copies worldwide (Band Edition)
  • Ltd. Special “Zwielicht” Box – Limited to only 200 copies worldwide (Band Edition)
  • Digital Album

Across four releases, beginning with 2016’s Pereat Mundus EP, Mental Cruelty has woven together a violent tapestry of black metal, death metal, deathcore, and a madness of their very own. With 2021’s landmark LP, A Hill To Die Upon (Unique Leader), the German quintet not only set a new standard for themselves, but also the genre as a whole.

Rising from the ashes of personal and professional chaos, Mental Cruelty spent the first half of 2021 seeking out a voice to continue to cement them as an uncompromising force in the German metal scene. After locking in Lukas, the band (rounded out by guitarists Nahuel Lozano and Marvin Kessler, bassist Viktor Dick and drummer Danny Straßer) reemerged bloodied but unbowed, ready to continue on their path to becoming an international force.

Armed with new vocalist Lukas Nicolai, Mental Cruelty usher in a new epoch of unlight and grim determination that’s at the heart of their upcoming album, Zwielicht (translated in English as “Twilight”). Once again working with producer and mixer Josh Schroeder (Lorna Shore, Ov Sulfur, Signs of the Swarm The Browning), they’ve pushed their sound to new blacker intensities forged in emotional riffing, heavy “back to the roots” breakdowns, and epic orchestral arrangements that surpass the already elite standards that have become synonymous with their name.

Zwielicht has come. Mental Cruelty’s reign of darkness has begun! 

Watch the previously released videos below:

“Zwielicht/Symphony of a Dying Star”:
“Forgotten Kings”:

Remember to catch Mental Cruelty on their first shows this year:

25.-29.07.23 Tolminator Metal Fest
04.08.23 Köln – Live Music Hall**
05.08.23 Triple 6 Festival
19.08.23 Karlsruhe – Substage*
07.10.23 Aarau – Kiff

** w/ Heaven Shall Burn, Any Given Day and The Acacia Strain
*w/ Heaven Shall Burn and Any Given Day

Mental Cruelty line-up:
Lukas Nicolai – Vocals
Nahuel Lozano – Guitars
Marvin Kessler – Guitars
Viktor Dick – Bass
Danny Straßer – Drums

Mental Cruelty online:

Related posts

Zwielicht has come. MENTAL CRUELTY’s reign of darkness has begun!Mental Cruelty releases their new album Zwielicht


MENTAL CRUELTY Announces New Single “Nordlys”


MENTAL CRUELTY new album “Zwielicht” in June & new single “Forgotten Kings” now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More