EVERY HOUR KILLS Cover Of Satriani’s “Time” Is Both A Delicate and Throttling Chapter In The “Re:Awa

Photo: L-R Sacha Laskow (Guitar & Programming) | Jerrod Maxwell-Lyster (Vocals) | Brent Stutsky (Bass) Photo Edit: Empirius

Every Hour Kills from Calgary, Canada is examining extraterrestrial threats and pondering the consequences of making dire and desperate decisions. Complete with a masterfully illustrated storybook from Splice Comics, this upcoming EP “Re:Awaken” is a work of art in many ways.

The second single off the EP is a Joe Satriani cover, “Time”, featuring a guest guitar solo from Rick Graham. It’s an instrumental dénouement to take the listener on a journey through the infinite. It is a heavier re-imagining of the classic, with enough familiarity to entice Satriani’s fans and a lick of creativity to stand on its own.

“Re:Awaken” is set in the 22nd century, when humankind was crippled by a relentless plague with no known cure. An ancient race of interstellar beings, the Illusorians, descended from the skies and offered a means to end the suffering of humanity. Each track follows the story of a person trying to navigate this cruel and unsettling reality.

Cinematic, progressive juxtaposing angular heaviness with soaring melody, each single is meant to stand alone and come together with the concept of the EP. There is no filler allowed in this project. The songs are all different yet still retain the underlying themes. 

“The band plays metal that sounds extremely modern and melodic, coming across as a mix of Scar Symmetry and Fear Factory, with sprinkles of djent for added flair.” – New Noise Magazine

Suitable for fans of modern and progressive metal, and bands such as In Flames, Starset, and Bring me the Horizon, “Re:Awaken” comes out on October 9, 2020.

The single “Time” ft. guest guitar solo Rick Graham (Joe Satriani cover) is available via its premiere on Bravewords HERE

The full EP “Re:Awaken” will be releasing on October 9, 2020. EP Pre-Save HERE.

First single “Veiled Aurora” at the following links:


Track Listing:
1. Veiled Aurora (ft. guest vocals Shaley Bourget of Dayshell, Of Mice & Men & guest guitar solo Morgan Reid of Bloodshot Dawn) (4:18)
2. Anthelion (ft. guest vocals Chris Thoresen (Shark Infested Daughters & guest guitar solo Travis Montgomery of Threat Signal, Meytal) (4:26)
3. Re:awaken (4:12)
4. Time ft. guest guitar solo Rick Graham (Joe Satriani cover) (5:04)
5. Veiled Aurora (Instrumental) (4:18)
6. Anthelion (Instrumental) (4:26)
7. Re:awaken (Instrumental) (4:12)
8.  Time (Joe Satriani cover) (Instrumental) (5:04)

More info:

Related posts

EVERY HOUR KILLS “Re:Awaken” The World With New EP; Full Stream Premiere via MetalInjection


EVERY HOUR KILLS “Re:Awaken” With New Animated Music Video For EP Out October 9th


“Anthelion” Highlights The Elaborate, Elegant Complexities of EVERY HOUR KILLS’ “Re:Awaken”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.